Grand Canyon West

大峡谷西部最伟大的女孩之旅

为期两天的空中漫步、直升机和漂流刺激

经历者: @HappilyPinkBlog

为期两天的空中漫步、直升机和漂流刺激
经过: @HappilyPinkBlog

随着年龄的增长,我越来越喜欢公路旅行,这个周末和我最好的朋友雷切尔一起旅行 大峡谷西部 会与众不同。加入我们的冒险之旅,让我们沉浸在华拉派祖传土地的原始领土内的丰富文化中!

大峡谷西的小屋

从亚利桑那州图森市驱车 6 小时后,我们到达了乡村 大峡谷西的小屋 星期四。小木屋的现场食品服务有限,所以我们带了一个冷却器,并利用了单元内的微波炉、冰箱和咖啡机。晚餐后,我们走到外面的门廊上观察日落,在那里我们可以看到地平线上的大峡谷。

随着年龄的增长,我越来越喜欢公路旅行,这个周末和我最好的朋友雷切尔一起旅行 大峡谷西部 会与众不同。加入我们的冒险之旅,让我们沉浸在华拉派祖传土地的原始领土内的丰富文化中!

周五在西缘
直升机 + 浮桥之旅
天桥航站楼

Skywalk 航站楼的直升机 + 浮桥之旅

这是我们第一次参加直升机之旅,我们非常期待这次体验。当我们走近红色直升机和它的旋风叶片时,我感到我的心跳加速,肾上腺素飙升。 

我们系好安全带,直升机从发射台迅速升空。我无法理解雷切尔和我不仅在直升机上,而且我们还准备飞过大峡谷!

当我们穿过平原时,我可以看到我们飞得更近了峡谷的边缘。我对高度的恐惧消失了,当我们在世界七大奇迹之一中航行时,我发现自己敬畏。在我意识到之前,我们开始了 3,500 英尺的下降。降落在科罗拉多河岸边,我们在远处发现了我们的下一次冒险,我们的浮桥之旅。

在接近我们的浮桥时,我们遇到了华拉派部落的耶利米和尼科。顺着科罗拉多河漂流而下,我们再次看到了大峡谷的独特视角,只是这次我们的目光是向上看的。当然,我一直都知道这个地标有多么宏伟,但是从科罗拉多河上看到峡谷更强调了我们周围的彩绘峡谷的壮丽景色。 

我最喜欢的部分之一 直升机 + 浮桥之旅 是这两项活动与另一项活动的对比程度。在直升机上,我们体验了肾上腺素的飙升,但从浮桥上,我们感到放松,因为细细的水雾击中了我们。当我们飞越高耸的墙壁时,呈现出浓郁的橙色、红色、棕褐色和棕色,我不禁想到这是一个完美的夏日。

漫步天空

漫步天空

4,000 英尺以下

在雷切尔和我敢于在天空漫步之前,我们选择了在 空中餐厅.当雷切尔和我从我们的桌子上滔滔不绝地谈论天空步道和大峡谷的全景时,女主人微笑着。

当瑞秋拉着我穿过水晶般透明的玻璃时 人行天桥,我的心沉了下去。我简直不敢相信我正凝视着 4,000 英尺的峡谷底部!一分钟后,我恢复了镇定。带着新的自信,令人惊讶的是,我什至张开双臂坐在玻璃地板上与瑞秋合影。我惊讶地发现玻璃的强度足以容纳 70 架满载的 747 客机!

鹰角和美洲原住民村

在前往鸟粪点班车的途中,我们在美国原住民村进行了自助游 鹰点 探索由华拉派、纳瓦霍、平原、霍皮和哈瓦苏派部落建造的传统房屋和汗水小屋的复制品。每一种住宿风格的前面都有一个标有各个部落信息的标志,让我们深入了解他们的生活方式。

鸟粪点的景色

一旦我们踏上 鸟粪点,我们注意到无栏杆的悬崖如何提供美丽的景色,其中包括蜿蜒的科罗拉多河。当我们开始高点徒步旅行时,我们小心翼翼地跨过岩石。

当我们接近 $350 万架空缆车系统的剩余部分时,华拉派大使 Seren 分享了更多关于该地点背后的历史。建于 1957 年的空中缆车将一条 8,800 英尺的电缆延伸到美国鸟粪公司购买的鸟粪矿。但到了 1959 年,所有的资源都被耗尽了。今天,人们前往鸟粪角观看 360 度全景。

鸟粪点是一个非常放松和宁静的地方,我可以放慢脚步,简单地捕捉一切。有了这些景色,我真希望我能在这里多呆几个小时。我呼了口气,又看了一眼,然后站起来走回航天飞机。

位于鸟粪点的班车站旁边是一个 美洲原住民跳蚤市场 支持各个部落的生计和工作。手工制作的珠宝引起了我的注意,我与艺术家交谈,这位母亲经常和她的孩子一起制作珠宝。经过艰难的决定,我最终选择了一个精美的银色和绿松石手链。

鸟粪点的景色

鸟粪点是一个非常放松和宁静的地方,我可以放慢脚步,简单地捕捉一切。有了这些景色,我真希望我能在这里多呆几个小时。我呼了口气,又看了一眼,然后站起来走回航天飞机。

位于鸟粪点的班车站旁边是一个 美洲原住民跳蚤市场 支持各个部落的生计和工作。手工制作的珠宝引起了我的注意,我与艺术家交谈,这位母亲经常和她的孩子一起制作珠宝。经过艰难的决定,我最终选择了一个精美的银色和绿松石手链。

翱翔于峡谷之上

穿梭巴士带我们去西缘的最后一次冒险 溜索.雷切尔和我以前都玩过高空滑索,所以我们熟悉这个过程,但渴望找出这与我们之前的体验有何不同。

当我们爬上 500 英尺高的塔时,峡谷的景色 军需官峡谷 越来越好! Quartermaster Canyon 以 20 世纪初定居在那里的一名华拉派成员的名字命名。

当两个人被锁定在他们的车道上时,我紧紧抓住酒吧,等待从塔上安全释放。一旦我开始滑过峡谷,当我的速度达到每小时 50 英里时,我感受到了巨大的力量!

就这样,我们在西缘结束了完整的行程,前往亚利桑那州桃泉市的 Hualapai Lodge 进行最后一天的激流漂流。当我们安顿好车开始两个小时的车程时,我们忍不住惊叹我们一天做了多少!历史、文化和活动引起了我们的兴趣。最好的部分是,没有人感到压力或匆忙。

周六在河边

白水漂流
华拉派河流氓

周六:激流漂流
与华拉派河赛跑者

周六清晨,阳光明媚,我们向木筏上的其他人致意。这次一日游的友情绝对让这一切变得如此有趣。每个人都是某种形式的冒险者。布拉德刚从阿拉斯加的户外活动回来,现在和他的父亲拉尔夫在一起。然后有一个三人组——多萝西、吉姆和安迪——在佛罗里达州的一次越野之旅中。然后,当然,我们经过认证的河流指南,朱利安。他提到他的家族在通过旅游促进旅游业方面有着悠久的历史。 华拉派河流氓.他解释了他将如何以 10 分制对每个即将到来的快速进行评分,以使我们做好准备。

朱利安问我们希望他把船开多快,多萝西热情地回答说,她想要足够的刺激来玩得开心,但要让我们一起回到河岸。当我们征服了第一轮急流时,没有人需要告诉朱利安两次。

环顾这群人,每个人都洋洋得意,脸上都洋溢着笑容,怎么能不呢?!我们在激流漂流冒险中沿着科罗拉多河漂流!

我们的旅程继续短途徒步到美丽的石灰华瀑布,更急流,最后是悠闲的漂浮。最终,我们漂浮在高高的天空步道和鸟粪点。如果朱利安没有指出,我们就会错过它!

当我们走近河岸和我们的巴士时,我遗憾地意识到这次旅行已经结束了。这几天的旅程,现在已经结束了。但是,这是一生难忘的旅行,我很感激能与我最好的朋友、冒险家伙伴和华拉派部落一起经历。将大峡谷州亚利桑那州称为我的家,我感到无比自豪。


当您访问 Grand Canyon West 时,您是在支持 华拉派部落民族. Hualapai(发音为 Wal-lah-pie),意思是高松的人民,是一个主权的原住民国家,不受美国政府的补贴。他们主要通过两大旅游企业自给自足,占地 108 万英亩,沿着大峡谷和科罗拉多河 108 英里:大峡谷西部和华拉派河跑者。

今天计划您的旅行

Grand Canyon West

The Grandest Girls Trip to Grand Canyon West

Two Days of Sky Walking, Helicoptering and River Rafting Excitement

Experienced by: @HappilyPinkBlog

Two Days of Sky Walking, Helicoptering and River Rafting Excitement
by: @HappilyPinkBlog

Road trips are something I’ve grown fonder of as I’ve gotten older, and this weekend trip with my best friend, Rachel, to Grand Canyon West would be unlike any other. Join our adventures as we immerse ourselves into the rich culture that exists within the original territory of the Hualapai ancestral lands!

The Cabins at Grand Canyon West

After a six-hour drive from Tucson, Arizona, we arrived at the rustic Cabins at Grand Canyon West on Thursday. Onsite food service at the cabins was limited, so we packed a cooler and took advantage of the in-unit microwave, refrigerator and coffee machine. After dinner, we stepped outside onto our porch to observe the sunset where we could see the Grand Canyon on the horizon.

Road trips are something I’ve grown fonder of as I’ve gotten older, and this weekend trip with my best friend, Rachel, to Grand Canyon West would be unlike any other. Join our adventures as we immerse ourselves into the rich culture that exists within the original territory of the Hualapai ancestral lands!

Friday at the West Rim
A Helicopter + Pontoon Tour at
Skywalk Terminal

A Helicopter + Pontoon Tour at Skywalk Terminal

With it being our first time on a helicopter tour, we were highly anticipating this experience. As we walked closer to the red helicopter and its swooshing blades, I felt my heart pump faster with adrenaline. 

We got strapped in and the helicopter swiftly ascended into the air from the launch pad. I couldn’t fathom the fact that Rachel and I were not only in a helicopter but we were also about to soar through the Grand Canyon!

As we crossed the plain, I could see us flying closer to the rim of the canyon. My fear of heights dissipated, and I found myself in awe as we navigated through one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Before I knew it, we began our 3,500-foot descent. Landing on the shores of the Colorado River, we spotted our next adventure in the distance, our pontoon ride.

Upon approaching our pontoon, we met Jeremiah and Nico, who are part of the Hualapai Tribe. Floating down the Colorado River, we were again presented with a unique perspective of the Grand Canyon except, this time, our gaze went upward. Of course I always knew how grand this landmark was, but seeing the canyon from the Colorado River emphasized the majestic sight of the painted canyon surrounding us. 

One of my favorite parts about the Helicopter + Pontoon Tour was how well the two activities contrasted with the other. From the helicopter, we experienced a rush of adrenaline, but from the pontoon, we felt relaxed as the fine spray of the water hit us. As we zoomed past the towering walls in rich hues of burnt orange, red, tan and brown, I couldn’t help but think this was the perfect summer day.

Walking the Sky

Walking the Sky

4,000 Feet Below

Before Rachel and I dared to walk the sky, we opted for a quick lunch break at Sky View Restaurant. The hostess smiled as Rachel and I gushed to each other about the panoramic views of the Skywalk and Grand Canyon from our table.

When Rachel pulled me across the crystal clear glass of the Skywalk, my heart dropped. I couldn’t believe that I was staring 4,000 feet down to the canyon’s floor! A minute later, I regained my composure. With newfound confidence, and surprisingly enough, I even sat on the glass floor with outstretched arms to pose with Rachel. I was amazed to discover that the glass is strong enough to hold seventy fully loaded 747 passenger jets!

EAGLE POINT AND THE NATIVE AMERICAN VILLAGE

On our way to the Guano Point shuttle, we took a self-guided tour of the Native American Village at Eagle Point to discover replicas of traditional housing and sweat lodges built by the Hualapai, Navajo, Plains, Hopi and Havasupai Tribes. A sign with information about the various tribes stood in front of each lodging style, giving us insights into their lifestyles.

The Views at Guano Point

Once we set foot at Guano Point, we noticed how the railing-free cliffs offered a beautiful view, one that included the winding Colorado River. We mindfully stepped over the rocks as we started the Highpoint Hike.

As we approached what’s left of the $3.5 million aerial tramway system, Seren, a Hualapai Ambassador, shared more history behind this location. The aerial tramway built in 1957 stretched a cable 8,800 feet to a guano mine that the U.S. Guano Corporation bought. But by 1959, all of the resources were exhausted. Today, people visit Guano Point for the 360 views.

Guano Point was very much a relaxed and peaceful point where I could slow down and simply capture everything. With these views, I wish that I could stay here for a few more hours. I exhaled and took one more look before standing up to walk back to the shuttle.

Located next to the shuttle stop at Guano Point was a Native American Flea Market that supports the livelihood and work of various tribes. The handmade jewelry caught my eye and I spoke to the artist, a mother that regularly makes the jewelry with her children. After a tough decision, I ended up selecting a dainty silver and turquoise bracelet.

The Views at Guano Point

Guano Point was very much a relaxed and peaceful point where I could slow down and simply capture everything. With these views, I wish that I could stay here for a few more hours. I exhaled and took one more look before standing up to walk back to the shuttle.

Located next to the shuttle stop at Guano Point was a Native American Flea Market that supports the livelihood and work of various tribes. The handmade jewelry caught my eye and I spoke to the artist, a mother that regularly makes the jewelry with her children. After a tough decision, I ended up selecting a dainty silver and turquoise bracelet.

Soaring Above the Canyon

The shuttle took us to our last adventure at the West Rim, Zipline. Rachel and I had both previously ziplined, so we were familiar with the process, yet eager to find out how this differed from our previous experience.

As we climbed the 500-foot towers, the canyon views of Quartermaster Canyon got better and better! Quartermaster Canyon was named after a Hualapai member who settled there in the early 20th century.

While two people got locked into their lanes, I tightly gripped the bar and waited for the safety release from the tower. Once I started gliding across the canyon, I felt so much power as my speed went as fast as 50 miles per hour!

And just like that, we finished our full itinerary at the West Rim and made our way to the Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs, Arizona, for our last day whitewater rafting. When we settled into our car and started the two-hour drive, we could not stop marveling at how much we had done in one day! The history, culture and activities captivated our interest. The best part, none of it felt stressed or rushed.

Saturday on the River

Whitewater Rafting with the
Hualapai River Runners

Saturday: Whitewater Rafting
with the Hualapai River Runners

Bright and early Saturday morning, we greeted the other people on our raft. The camaraderie on this one-day trip definitely made it all so fun. Everyone was an adventurer in one form or another. Brad had just come back from Alaska’s outdoors and was now here with his dad, Ralph. Then there was a trio — Dorothy, Jim and Andy — on a cross-country tour from Florida. Then, of course, our certified river guide, Julian. He mentioned how his family had a long history of promoting tourism through the Hualapai River Runners. He explained how he would rate each upcoming rapid on a 10-point scale to get us ready.

Julian asked us how fast we would like for him to drive the boat, and Dorothy enthusiastically responded that she wanted enough excitement to have fun but to get us back to the riverbank in one piece. No one needed to tell Julian twice as we conquered our first round of rapids.

As I looked around the group, everyone had such high energy with smiles stretched across their faces, but how could we not?! We were floating down the Colorado River on a whitewater rafting adventure!

Our journey continued with a short hike to the beautiful Travertine Falls, more rapids, and finally, a leisurely float. Eventually, we floated past the Skywalk and Guano Point high overhead. We would’ve missed it had Julian not pointed it out!

When we approached the river bank and our bus, I sadly realized the trip was now over. The journey that I experienced the past few days had now come to an end. But, this was the trip of a lifetime and one that I’m grateful that I could experience with my best friend, fellow adventurers and the Hualapai Tribe. I never felt more proud to call Arizona, the Grand Canyon State, my home.


When you visit Grand Canyon West, you are supporting the Hualapai Tribal Nation. The Hualapai (pronounced Wal-lah-pie), meaning People of the Tall Pines, is a sovereign Indigenous nation that is not subsidized by the United States government. They primarily support themselves through two major tourism enterprises encompassing one million acres along 108 miles of the Grand Canyon and Colorado River: Grand Canyon West and The Hualapai River Runners.

Plan your trip today