جراند كانيون ويست

رحلة أعظم الفتيات إلى جراند كانيون ويست

يومان من المشي في السماء ، والطيران الهليكوبتر والإثارة في النهر

من ذوي الخبرة:HappilyPinkBlog

يومان من المشي في السماء ، والطيران الهليكوبتر والإثارة في النهر
بواسطة:HappilyPinkBlog

أصبحت الرحلات البرية شيئًا مغرمًا به مع تقدمي في السن ، وهذه الرحلة في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع أفضل صديق لي ، راشيل ، من أجل جراند كانيون ويست سيكون على عكس أي دولة أخرى. انضم إلى مغامراتنا بينما ننغمس في الثقافة الغنية الموجودة داخل الأراضي الأصلية لأراضي أجداد هوالاباي!

الكابينة في جراند كانيون ويست

بعد ست ساعات بالسيارة من توكسون ، أريزونا ، وصلنا إلى الريف كابينة في جراند كانيون ويست يوم الخميس. كانت خدمة الطعام في الموقع في الكبائن محدودة ، لذلك قمنا بتعبئة المبرد واستفدنا من الميكروويف والثلاجة وآلة القهوة في الوحدة. بعد العشاء ، خرجنا إلى الشرفة لمشاهدة غروب الشمس حيث يمكننا رؤية جراند كانيون في الأفق.

أصبحت الرحلات البرية شيئًا مغرمًا به مع تقدمي في السن ، وهذه الرحلة في عطلة نهاية الأسبوع مع أفضل صديق لي ، راشيل ، من أجل جراند كانيون ويست سيكون على عكس أي دولة أخرى. انضم إلى مغامراتنا بينما ننغمس في الثقافة الغنية الموجودة داخل الأراضي الأصلية لأراضي أجداد هوالاباي!

الجمعة في ريم الغربية
جولة هليكوبتر + جسر عائم في
محطة Skywalk

جولة بطائرة هليكوبتر + بونتون في محطة Skywalk

نظرًا لأن هذه هي المرة الأولى التي نقوم فيها بجولة بطائرة هليكوبتر ، كنا نتوقع هذه التجربة بشدة. عندما اقتربنا من المروحية الحمراء وشفراتها المتعفنة ، شعرت بقلبي ينبض بشكل أسرع مع الأدرينالين. 

وصلنا مربوطًا وصعدت المروحية بسرعة في الهواء من منصة الإطلاق. لم أستطع أن أفهم حقيقة أن راشيل وأنا لم نكن فقط في طائرة هليكوبتر ولكننا كنا على وشك التحليق عبر جراند كانيون!

عندما عبرنا السهل ، كان بإمكاني رؤيتنا نطير بالقرب من حافة الوادي. تبدد خوفي من المرتفعات ، ووجدت نفسي في حالة من الرهبة بينما كنا نبحر عبر إحدى عجائب الدنيا السبع. قبل أن أعرف ذلك ، بدأنا نزولنا الذي يبلغ ارتفاعه 3500 قدم. عند الهبوط على شواطئ نهر كولورادو ، اكتشفنا مغامرتنا التالية في المسافة ، رحلتنا العائمة.

عند الاقتراب من عائمنا ، التقينا بإرميا ونيكو ، وهما جزء من قبيلة Hualapai. عومًا أسفل نهر كولورادو ، قدم لنا مرة أخرى منظورًا فريدًا لجراند كانيون باستثناء أن نظرتنا هذه المرة صعدت إلى الأعلى. بالطبع كنت أعرف دائمًا مدى عظم هذا المعلم ، لكن رؤية الوادي من نهر كولورادو أكد على المنظر المهيب للوادي الملون المحيط بنا. 

أحد الأجزاء المفضلة لدي حول طائرة هليكوبتر + جولة بونتون كان مدى تناقض النشاطين مع الآخر. من المروحية ، عانينا من اندفاع الأدرينالين ، ولكن من العائم ، شعرنا بالاسترخاء عندما ضربنا رذاذ الماء. بينما كنا نتجاوز الجدران الشاهقة بألوان غنية من البرتقالي المحترق والأحمر والتان والبني ، لم يسعني إلا أن أعتقد أن هذا كان يومًا صيفيًا مثاليًا.

المشي في السماء

المشي في السماء

4000 قدم أدناه

قبل أن نتجرأ أنا وراشيل على السير في السماء ، اخترنا استراحة غداء سريعة مطعم سكاي فيو. ابتسمت المضيفة بينما تدفقت أنا وراشيل لبعضنا البعض حول الإطلالات البانورامية على Skywalk و Grand Canyon من طاولتنا.

عندما سحبتني راشيل عبر زجاج الكريستال الشفاف من سكاي ووكسقط قلبي. لم أصدق أنني كنت أحدق على ارتفاع 4000 قدم إلى أرضية الوادي! بعد دقيقة ، استعدت رباطة جأسي. بثقة اكتشفت حديثًا ، وبشكل مدهش بدرجة كافية ، جلست حتى على الأرضية الزجاجية بأذرع ممدودة لأقف مع راشيل. لقد اندهشت عندما اكتشفت أن الزجاج قوي بما يكفي لاستيعاب سبعين طائرة ركاب 747 محملة بالكامل!

إيجل بوينت والقرية الأمريكية الأصلية

في طريقنا إلى مكوك Guano Point ، أخذنا جولة ذاتية التوجيه في Native American Village at النسر نقطة لاكتشاف نسخ طبق الأصل من المساكن التقليدية ونزل العرق التي بنتها قبائل Hualapai و Navajo و Plains و Hopi و Havasupai. وقفت لافتة تحتوي على معلومات حول القبائل المختلفة أمام كل نمط سكن ، مما يمنحنا نظرة ثاقبة على أنماط حياتهم.

الآراء في Guano Point

بمجرد أن تطأ قدمنا في ذرق الطائر، لاحظنا كيف أن المنحدرات الخالية من الدرابزين توفر منظرًا جميلًا ، والذي شمل نهر كولورادو المتعرج. لقد تخطينا الصخور بعناية عندما بدأنا Highpoint Hike.

عندما اقتربنا من ما تبقى من نظام الترام الجوي $3.5 مليون ، شاركت Seren ، سفيرة Hualapai ، المزيد من التاريخ وراء هذا الموقع. قام الترام الجوي الذي تم بناؤه في عام 1957 بتمديد كبل يبلغ 8800 قدم إلى منجم ذرق الطائر الذي اشترته شركة Guano Corporation الأمريكية. ولكن بحلول عام 1959 ، تم استنفاد جميع الموارد. اليوم ، يزور الناس Guano Point للحصول على 360 مشاهدة.

كانت Guano Point إلى حد كبير نقطة استرخاء وسلمية حيث يمكنني أن أبطئ وألتقط كل شيء. بهذه الآراء ، أتمنى أن أبقى هنا لبضع ساعات أخرى. قمت بالزفير وألقيت نظرة أخرى قبل أن أقف وأعود إلى المكوك.

يقع بجوار محطة المكوك في Guano Point كان أ سوق البرغوث الأمريكي الأصلي التي تدعم معيشة وعمل مختلف القبائل. لفتت انتباهي المجوهرات المصنوعة يدويًا وتحدثت إلى الفنانة ، وهي أم تصنع المجوهرات بانتظام مع أطفالها. بعد قرار صعب ، انتهى بي الأمر باختيار سوار أنيق من الفضة والفيروز.

الآراء في Guano Point

كانت Guano Point إلى حد كبير نقطة استرخاء وسلمية حيث يمكنني أن أبطئ وألتقط كل شيء. بهذه الآراء ، أتمنى أن أبقى هنا لبضع ساعات أخرى. قمت بالزفير وألقيت نظرة أخرى قبل أن أقف وأعود إلى المكوك.

يقع بجوار محطة المكوك في Guano Point كان أ سوق البرغوث الأمريكي الأصلي التي تدعم معيشة وعمل مختلف القبائل. لفتت انتباهي المجوهرات المصنوعة يدويًا وتحدثت إلى الفنانة ، وهي أم تصنع المجوهرات بانتظام مع أطفالها. بعد قرار صعب ، انتهى بي الأمر باختيار سوار أنيق من الفضة والفيروز.

التحليق فوق الوادي

أخذنا المكوك إلى مغامرتنا الأخيرة في الغرب ريم ، Zipline. لقد كنت أنا وراشيل قد انزلقنا سابقًا ، لذلك كنا على دراية بالعملية ، لكننا حريصون على معرفة كيف يختلف ذلك عن تجربتنا السابقة.

بينما كنا نتسلق الأبراج التي يبلغ ارتفاعها 500 قدم ، كانت مناظر الوادي التموين كانيون أصبح أفضل وأفضل! تم تسمية كارترماستر كانيون على اسم عضو Hualapai الذي استقر هناك في أوائل القرن العشرين.

بينما حُبس شخصان في ممراتهما ، أمسكت الشريط بإحكام وانتظرت إطلاق سراح الأمان من البرج. بمجرد أن بدأت في الانزلاق عبر الوادي ، شعرت بقوة كبيرة حيث وصلت سرعاتي بسرعة تصل إلى 50 ميلاً في الساعة!

وبهذه الطريقة ، انتهينا من خط سير الرحلة بالكامل في West Rim وشقنا طريقنا إلى Hualapai Lodge في Peach Springs ، أريزونا ، ليومنا الأخير لركوب الرمث في المياه البيضاء. عندما استقرنا في سيارتنا وبدأنا في القيادة لمدة ساعتين ، لم نتمكن من التوقف عن التعجب من مقدار ما فعلناه في يوم واحد! التاريخ والثقافة والأنشطة أسرت اهتمامنا. أفضل جزء ، لم يشعر أي منه بالتوتر أو الاندفاع.

السبت على النهر

تجمع وايت ووتر مع
عداء نهر هواباي

السبت: تجمع وايت ووتر
مع عداء نهر هوالاباي

في الصباح الباكر من يوم السبت المشرق ، استقبلنا الأشخاص الآخرين على طوفنا. من المؤكد أن الصداقة الحميمة في هذه الرحلة التي تستغرق يومًا واحدًا جعلت كل شيء ممتعًا للغاية. كان الجميع مغامرًا بشكل أو بآخر. كان براد قد عاد لتوه من الهواء الطلق في ألاسكا وكان الآن هنا مع والده رالف. ثم كان هناك ثلاثي - دوروثي وجيم وآندي - في جولة عبر البلاد من فلوريدا. ثم ، بالطبع ، مرشدنا النهري المعتمد ، جوليان. وذكر كيف كان لعائلته تاريخ طويل في الترويج للسياحة من خلال عداء نهر هواباي. وأوضح كيف سيقيم كل سريع قادم على مقياس مكون من 10 نقاط لتجهيزنا.

سألنا جوليان عن السرعة التي نرغب بها في قيادة القارب ، وأجابت دوروثي بحماس أنها تريد ما يكفي من الإثارة للاستمتاع ولكن لإعادتنا إلى ضفة النهر في قطعة واحدة. لم يكن أحد بحاجة إلى إخبار جوليان مرتين عندما احتلنا الجولة الأولى من المنحدرات.

عندما نظرت حول المجموعة ، كان لدى الجميع طاقة عالية مع ابتسامات ممتدة على وجوههم ، لكن كيف لا يمكننا ذلك؟! كنا نطفو على نهر كولورادو في مغامرة تجديف في المياه البيضاء!

استمرت رحلتنا برحلة قصيرة إلى شلالات ترافرتين الجميلة ، والمزيد من المنحدرات ، وأخيراً ، عوامة على مهل. في النهاية ، تجاوزنا Skywalk و Guano Point عالياً. كنا سنفتقدها لو لم يشرها جوليان!

عندما اقتربنا من ضفة النهر وحافلتنا ، أدركت للأسف أن الرحلة قد انتهت الآن. انتهت الآن الرحلة التي عشتها في الأيام القليلة الماضية. ولكن ، كانت هذه رحلة العمر والتي أشعر بالامتنان لأنني تمكنت من تجربتها مع أعز أصدقائي وزملائي المغامرين وقبيلة Hualapai. لم أشعر أبدًا بالفخر أكثر للاتصال بيتي في ولاية أريزونا ، ولاية جراند كانيون.


عندما تزور Grand Canyon West ، فأنت تدعم أمة Hualapai القبلية. Hualapai (تُنطق Wal-lah-pie) ، وتعني شعب تال باينز ، هي أمة ذات سيادة من السكان الأصليين لا تدعمها حكومة الولايات المتحدة. إنهم يدعمون أنفسهم في المقام الأول من خلال مؤسستين سياحيتين رئيسيتين تغطيان مليون فدان على طول 108 أميال من جراند كانيون ونهر كولورادو: جراند كانيون ويست و The Hualapai River Runners.

خطط لرحلتك اليوم

Grand Canyon West

The Grandest Girls Trip to Grand Canyon West

Two Days of Sky Walking, Helicoptering and River Rafting Excitement

Experienced by: @HappilyPinkBlog

Two Days of Sky Walking, Helicoptering and River Rafting Excitement
by: @HappilyPinkBlog

Road trips are something I’ve grown fonder of as I’ve gotten older, and this weekend trip with my best friend, Rachel, to Grand Canyon West would be unlike any other. Join our adventures as we immerse ourselves into the rich culture that exists within the original territory of the Hualapai ancestral lands!

The Cabins at Grand Canyon West

After a six-hour drive from Tucson, Arizona, we arrived at the rustic Cabins at Grand Canyon West on Thursday. Onsite food service at the cabins was limited, so we packed a cooler and took advantage of the in-unit microwave, refrigerator and coffee machine. After dinner, we stepped outside onto our porch to observe the sunset where we could see the Grand Canyon on the horizon.

Road trips are something I’ve grown fonder of as I’ve gotten older, and this weekend trip with my best friend, Rachel, to Grand Canyon West would be unlike any other. Join our adventures as we immerse ourselves into the rich culture that exists within the original territory of the Hualapai ancestral lands!

Friday at the West Rim
A Helicopter + Pontoon Tour at
Skywalk Terminal

A Helicopter + Pontoon Tour at Skywalk Terminal

With it being our first time on a helicopter tour, we were highly anticipating this experience. As we walked closer to the red helicopter and its swooshing blades, I felt my heart pump faster with adrenaline. 

We got strapped in and the helicopter swiftly ascended into the air from the launch pad. I couldn’t fathom the fact that Rachel and I were not only in a helicopter but we were also about to soar through the Grand Canyon!

As we crossed the plain, I could see us flying closer to the rim of the canyon. My fear of heights dissipated, and I found myself in awe as we navigated through one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Before I knew it, we began our 3,500-foot descent. Landing on the shores of the Colorado River, we spotted our next adventure in the distance, our pontoon ride.

Upon approaching our pontoon, we met Jeremiah and Nico, who are part of the Hualapai Tribe. Floating down the Colorado River, we were again presented with a unique perspective of the Grand Canyon except, this time, our gaze went upward. Of course I always knew how grand this landmark was, but seeing the canyon from the Colorado River emphasized the majestic sight of the painted canyon surrounding us. 

One of my favorite parts about the Helicopter + Pontoon Tour was how well the two activities contrasted with the other. From the helicopter, we experienced a rush of adrenaline, but from the pontoon, we felt relaxed as the fine spray of the water hit us. As we zoomed past the towering walls in rich hues of burnt orange, red, tan and brown, I couldn’t help but think this was the perfect summer day.

Walking the Sky

Walking the Sky

4,000 Feet Below

Before Rachel and I dared to walk the sky, we opted for a quick lunch break at Sky View Restaurant. The hostess smiled as Rachel and I gushed to each other about the panoramic views of the Skywalk and Grand Canyon from our table.

When Rachel pulled me across the crystal clear glass of the Skywalk, my heart dropped. I couldn’t believe that I was staring 4,000 feet down to the canyon’s floor! A minute later, I regained my composure. With newfound confidence, and surprisingly enough, I even sat on the glass floor with outstretched arms to pose with Rachel. I was amazed to discover that the glass is strong enough to hold seventy fully loaded 747 passenger jets!

EAGLE POINT AND THE NATIVE AMERICAN VILLAGE

On our way to the Guano Point shuttle, we took a self-guided tour of the Native American Village at Eagle Point to discover replicas of traditional housing and sweat lodges built by the Hualapai, Navajo, Plains, Hopi and Havasupai Tribes. A sign with information about the various tribes stood in front of each lodging style, giving us insights into their lifestyles.

The Views at Guano Point

Once we set foot at Guano Point, we noticed how the railing-free cliffs offered a beautiful view, one that included the winding Colorado River. We mindfully stepped over the rocks as we started the Highpoint Hike.

As we approached what’s left of the $3.5 million aerial tramway system, Seren, a Hualapai Ambassador, shared more history behind this location. The aerial tramway built in 1957 stretched a cable 8,800 feet to a guano mine that the U.S. Guano Corporation bought. But by 1959, all of the resources were exhausted. Today, people visit Guano Point for the 360 views.

Guano Point was very much a relaxed and peaceful point where I could slow down and simply capture everything. With these views, I wish that I could stay here for a few more hours. I exhaled and took one more look before standing up to walk back to the shuttle.

Located next to the shuttle stop at Guano Point was a Native American Flea Market that supports the livelihood and work of various tribes. The handmade jewelry caught my eye and I spoke to the artist, a mother that regularly makes the jewelry with her children. After a tough decision, I ended up selecting a dainty silver and turquoise bracelet.

The Views at Guano Point

Guano Point was very much a relaxed and peaceful point where I could slow down and simply capture everything. With these views, I wish that I could stay here for a few more hours. I exhaled and took one more look before standing up to walk back to the shuttle.

Located next to the shuttle stop at Guano Point was a Native American Flea Market that supports the livelihood and work of various tribes. The handmade jewelry caught my eye and I spoke to the artist, a mother that regularly makes the jewelry with her children. After a tough decision, I ended up selecting a dainty silver and turquoise bracelet.

Soaring Above the Canyon

The shuttle took us to our last adventure at the West Rim, Zipline. Rachel and I had both previously ziplined, so we were familiar with the process, yet eager to find out how this differed from our previous experience.

As we climbed the 500-foot towers, the canyon views of Quartermaster Canyon got better and better! Quartermaster Canyon was named after a Hualapai member who settled there in the early 20th century.

While two people got locked into their lanes, I tightly gripped the bar and waited for the safety release from the tower. Once I started gliding across the canyon, I felt so much power as my speed went as fast as 50 miles per hour!

And just like that, we finished our full itinerary at the West Rim and made our way to the Hualapai Lodge in Peach Springs, Arizona, for our last day whitewater rafting. When we settled into our car and started the two-hour drive, we could not stop marveling at how much we had done in one day! The history, culture and activities captivated our interest. The best part, none of it felt stressed or rushed.

Saturday on the River

Whitewater Rafting with the
Hualapai River Runners

Saturday: Whitewater Rafting
with the Hualapai River Runners

Bright and early Saturday morning, we greeted the other people on our raft. The camaraderie on this one-day trip definitely made it all so fun. Everyone was an adventurer in one form or another. Brad had just come back from Alaska’s outdoors and was now here with his dad, Ralph. Then there was a trio — Dorothy, Jim and Andy — on a cross-country tour from Florida. Then, of course, our certified river guide, Julian. He mentioned how his family had a long history of promoting tourism through the Hualapai River Runners. He explained how he would rate each upcoming rapid on a 10-point scale to get us ready.

Julian asked us how fast we would like for him to drive the boat, and Dorothy enthusiastically responded that she wanted enough excitement to have fun but to get us back to the riverbank in one piece. No one needed to tell Julian twice as we conquered our first round of rapids.

As I looked around the group, everyone had such high energy with smiles stretched across their faces, but how could we not?! We were floating down the Colorado River on a whitewater rafting adventure!

Our journey continued with a short hike to the beautiful Travertine Falls, more rapids, and finally, a leisurely float. Eventually, we floated past the Skywalk and Guano Point high overhead. We would’ve missed it had Julian not pointed it out!

When we approached the river bank and our bus, I sadly realized the trip was now over. The journey that I experienced the past few days had now come to an end. But, this was the trip of a lifetime and one that I’m grateful that I could experience with my best friend, fellow adventurers and the Hualapai Tribe. I never felt more proud to call Arizona, the Grand Canyon State, my home.


When you visit Grand Canyon West, you are supporting the Hualapai Tribal Nation. The Hualapai (pronounced Wal-lah-pie), meaning People of the Tall Pines, is a sovereign Indigenous nation that is not subsidized by the United States government. They primarily support themselves through two major tourism enterprises encompassing one million acres along 108 miles of the Grand Canyon and Colorado River: Grand Canyon West and The Hualapai River Runners.

Plan your trip today